Terrible situations, beautiful results

Have you ever felt like you’ve been done wrong? Whether it be a significant other, friend, or family. I sure have but by someone, I never expected it from. God.

After my dad died I had such a hard time keeping my faith strong and my usual desire to be a Christian dwindled at a scary rate. I just couldn’t grasp why he would take my dad from me. He’s supposed to know everything so he must’ve known how close we were and how important he was to our whole family.

My dad was an amazing guy there is and never will be anybody that can even come close. He was a family man, he worked hard, went to church, lived a solid Christian life, you just couldn’t beat him. As his little girl, I couldn’t find any flaws even if I tried. He was the best dad anyone could ask for.

Yet, just like that God took him away. Like a toddler, my favorite word for months and years after he died was, Why? Why him? Why not someone else? Why now? His death rattled so many people it’s unbelievable. So I know it wasn’t just me thinking this. When those 6 guys carried his casket out to that logging truck all I could say is why.

This should not be happening he was only 34. He has so much more life to live. But that wasn’t part of God’s plan. I think that fact that I didn’t know why it had to happen hurt more than anything else. I was just dumbfounded. I mean there are murders that are going to rot in jail, yet, my dad was the one to die not them.

About a year ago one of my “anthem songs” came out (along with many, many others). It’s called Thy Will by Hillary Scott and her family. It was written shortly after she had a miscarriage and obviously as anyone can imagine was having a tough time.

Even though our situations could not be any more different the song speaks to my heart. We both lost someone very near and dear to our hearts.

Now almost 5 years later when I look back I’m beginning to see why God planned this. There are sooooo many good things that came from the heartache. Just being able to write a blog is one. It was a terrible situation but out of it arose beautiful scenarios.

If it wasn’t for my dad’s death I would not be writing right now. Hopefully inspiring others all around. Sharing my journey. God had greater plans for me than to just be a small town girl in Gladwin. People, including myself, seem to think they know best and know how to navigate life.

When really none of us know. I most definitely would not have planned my dad’s death that soon. All of it is part of the bigger picture though. My life is proving that God’s way is usually the best way anyhow.

“That my broken heart is a part of your plan. When I try to pray
All I’ve got is hurt and these four words. Thy will be done”

God will take care of you no matter what. At the time it may not seem like it but I promise he pulls through. I’ve never been in a better spot than I am now. I had to endure some tragedy to get here but I got here. Everything happens for a reason. It’s a cliché quote but I’ve lived it and it’s so much more than a quote. It’s a fact.

I highly recommend listening to this song. It’s one of my favorites!!! It really opens your eyes as well. Their whole album is called Love Remains for those days you need a pick me up. Enjoy:)

One thought on “Terrible situations, beautiful results

Leave a Reply

