Be Happy. Be Beautiful. Be You.

The world these days is so condescending to people just being themselves. From the time we are little kids T.V., social media, and celebrities, are all constantly telling us how we are “supposed” to look or how we are “supposed” to act.

Fortunately, I grew up in a household that tends to not fall into stereotypes all that much. Before my dad died it was just him with 5 other girls. Now, don’t get me wrong we enjoyed playing house with our dolls, but we also enjoyed hunting and fishing with our dad. Every single one of us hunts and have since we were itty bitty. In fact, my littlest sister was at her first bear tree at 3 days old.

Because of the fact that I hunt and fish it sets me apart from most of the female population. However, I don’t see that as a bad thing. Everyone has something that sets them apart. Mine happens to be my hobbies. Some people it’s their gifts or talents.

I also face life with a very strong faith in God. Which causes huge controversies now. But, when someone realizes that my God and faith are the reason I am different sometimes they want the same thing. When my dad died people who came to us or other people we know noticed that my dad was different noticed that we all seemed in way better shape than we should. It brought people to God.

I’m not a teenager that parties, or drinks, or smokes. I don’t sneak out or blow curfew. I’m responsible for my actions and deal with my consequences when I do make bad decisions. I’m not in any way trying to make myself sound superior to anyone else, but I’m giving credit to my God. That’s why I don’t do those things. It’s part of my beliefs and morals.

So yeah I get a lot of the “goody two shoes” stuff. But I’d rather hang out at home or with my boyfriend chilling than partying on a Friday night. For a 17-year-old, I’m very mild and to most boring. I hold myself to a high standard across the board and know I have to ability to accomplish whatever I set my mind to. It all comes back to my integrity. I know that on the weekends when others are partying I’ll be the girl studying or in bed for work/school the next day.

I don’t have a single problem standing out with my lifestyle or religion. I know God made me exactly how I was supposed to be. Yeah, it’s lonely sometimes, but I have friends and family who accept me as I am.

Yesterday I applied for a clothing company as a junior staff that is encouraging and promoting women in the outdoors. Whether it be camping, hunting, fishing, or hiking. I cannot wait to hopefully become part of the team because I know there are girls all over feeling alone that hunt and fish.

I stick out due to my hobbies, religion, morals, etc…You may stick out for your height, weight, hair color, whatever it may be, makes you who you are. Every inch, every hair, every freckle. God so carefully sculpted you into someone who has imperfections but has so many other things to outweigh them.

Everyone has insecurities about themselves it’s only natural. But that can’t stop you from still be amazing. Just in your own way. Whatever works for you really. Ya know I wish I was shorter a lot but I can’t change that. I can only be there to reach stuff on the top shelf for people, namely my grandma Eva a lot;)

As you get older you realize these little things don’t matter anymore. It hits you that nobody’s opinion matters. Someday you’ll find that guy/girl who thinks you’re perfect in all your imperfections. That will love you for all your little odd ball things or crazy habits. And that day that will be all that matters.

You are in charge of being you and no one else. Take pride in who you are and who you will be. It’s time to take negativity out. Turn T.V. off, stop following celebrities, and just be you. Do what you love and be your own kind of beautiful. IMG_5417.JPG

One thought on “Be Happy. Be Beautiful. Be You.

Leave a Reply

