“You can sleep when you’re dead”-Chad Searfoss

 

“Some day I hope you get the chance to live like you were dyin” -Tim McGraw

I am currently 17 years old and trying to figure out the rest of my life, the age where death is the farthest thing from my mind. However, the brutal reality is my chances of making it till tomorrow are as good as a woman 5 times my age on her death bed. I could even die before her. Who knows I could not even finish this post.

The thing that scares me isn’t the dying part, I’m afraid of not making my life everything I possibly could. Of not living life to the fullest until my absolute last breath, not creating a name for myself. I don’t want to just come to Earth to go through the motions. Be born, live, and die. I want to make my mark and leave something to be proud of.

Up until 5 years ago I lived my life and knew we weren’t guaranteed one second to the next but nothing like after my dad died. Nobody saw it coming, He was a healthy, young, hard-working, and still had so much more life to live. I got slapped in the face with reality; I wasn’t guaranteed any more time that the person next to me.

My dad always lived life to the fullest, Doing what he wanted and loved not what anyone else thought he should do. Following his dreams, and really making the best of the little time he had.

I remember when I was little my dad would tell people  “you can sleep when you’re dead”. I laughed it off. However, now that I look back on it I take it at a different angle. It has so much more meaning. Don’t waste your time sleeping when it could be the only time you have. Don’t sleep your life away, get up and make a name for yourself. Live like you are dying.

Some babies don’t get the chance. There are some who only live months, weeks, days, or even minutes after birth. Sady, some don’t even make it to birth. They don’t even get the chance, that could’ve been you. But it wasn’t in God’s plan for you. I had a little brother or sister who didn’t get to see this world. Yet I complain about this that and the other thing. But I’m alive! With a family who has so much love to give.

I’ve had some rough times, but overall my 17 years have been good to me and getting better. I’m here, alive, and breathing. I have a roof over my head, clothes on my back, food on the table, and friends and family who love me.

Some people would give anything to live the life I’ve been given. There are people wondering if they’ll make it to bed one more time or tell their family they love them. People who fight for their lives every day. Here I have healthy life handed to me on a silver plate.

I’ve taken this to heart since my dad died. I’ve made one significant huge risk 11 months ago and it was the best one I’ve ever made. He has become the best thing that’s ever happened to me. My best friend and future. But that’s because I decided to live a little, take a chance. Which is the complete opposite of me normally.

Take those chances, be spontaneous, live your life, make a name; all before it’s too late. I chose a little risk and got a huge reward. Don’t regret the chances you didn’t take. In the end, they will be what you think in those last moments. Fill your life with memories; I know in those moments I’ll want to reflect on what I did do not what I didn’t do.

 

Leave a Reply

